I’m Reading At Featherless With Dana Johnson And Michelle Joyner At Stories Books And Cafe June 8th 7pm

I like to say that I  am a professional bisexual. Other times I think it’s more clever to say that I am “straight for pay”. Only it seems I am becoming straight FOR FREE with increasing regularity and part of me wonders if I should be alarmed!

M. Jackalinski's color test for the short story "Straight For Pay" That's me and Miller riding the bus to Occupy

M. Jackalinski’s color test for the short story “Straight For Pay” That’s me and Miller riding the bus to Occupy Boston. We are professional (and lifestyle) monsters, really.

The fact that I’ll be participating in my first “not gay” reading on Friday, June 8th pretty much confirms this discomfiting retro-hetro trend…  I mean, don’t get me wrong, Featherless co-curators Andrea Lambert and Katie are pretty gay (in fact I heard they’re actually GAY TOGETHER) but still it is a bit thrilling to read at something that is not explicitly HOMO. I’m also very pleased to have the opportunity to read with the  amazing  Dana Johnson.

I’ve been busy working on a chapbook entitled “Straight For Pay” that I hope to have ready by then. I’m collaborating with some really amazing illustrators including Tara Avery, M. Jackalinski and Amie Wee who is also doing the layout and cover design. I’ve wanted to collaborate with all three artists for years and am thrilled with the amazing illustrations that they’ve come up with. Sure, I framed this as a “collaboration” but really I am just tricking them into indulging my obscure fetish for being drawn. It’s called “narcism”.   I hope you like it!

A bit about Dana:

Dana Johnson

Dana Johnson

Dana Johnson’s debut novel Elsewhere, California will be published June 12 by Counterpoint Press. It has received a starred review in Publishers Weekly and garnered advance praise from writers like T.C Boyle, Michelle Huneven, Oscar Hijuelos, and Aimee Bender. Dana is also is the author of the short story collection Break Any Woman Down, which won the Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction and was a finalist for the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award. Born and raised in and around Los Angeles, California, Dana is an associate professor of English at the University of Southern California. For more info on

Dana, visit: www.danajohnsonauthor.com 

June 8, 7 pm
Stories Books and Cafe1716 West Sunset Boulevard  Los Angeles, CA 90026(213) 413-3733

3 thoughts on “I’m Reading At Featherless With Dana Johnson And Michelle Joyner At Stories Books And Cafe June 8th 7pm

    • Mommy Fiercest says:

      Eeep! I’m not going to have the chapbook done by then. I’m working with other folks who have other real world commitments. The chapbooks will be done by pride but I’ll still be reading from one of the stories that is illustrated. So I’ll be showing pictures too! Like kinky 2nd grade but consensual and not nearly as creepy as I’m making it sound!

Leave a Reply

